ULM Library LibGuides: Biology: Finding Articles & Databases

EBSCO Discovery

Databases from A to Z || Journals and Books by Title || Research Guides by Subject

Featured Databases

General Databases
Biology Best Bets

These databases are a great place to start for most topics. They cover a broad range of topics, which can be helpful, but also overwhelming.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Credo Reference

Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. It's a great source to consult when trying to determine a topic for your research paper.
EBSCO Discovery

The EBSCO Discovery Service allows you to search through all the content ULM subscribes to in one easy place. You can search for an article title, journal title, or ISBN/ISSN and instantly find full text access for any article/book that ULM pays to access.

Note: If the article/journal does not show up in EBSCO Discovery, then there's a good chance we don't have access to it. Fortunately, we might still be able to get a copy for you via Interlibrary Loan. If you have questions about this or need help submitting a request, please email reference@ulm.edu.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.
Sage Knowledge
Hosting over 5,100 titles, SAGE Knowledge is home to a prestigious range of eBook and eReference content—including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles, and streaming video—making this the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty.

These databases will be your best bets for all things related to biology. These databases are more narrowed in scope, so they tend to only cover articles related to the biology discipline.

AGRICOLA

This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts®, produced by Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson Scientific), is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains over 14 million archival records from as far back as 1926, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
BioOne Digital Library
The BioOne Digital Library is a community-based platform that provides global distribution for more than 350 journals and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. *Note: Articles in this database are not available for download and must be ordered through our ULM Interlibrary Loan service.*
Coronavirus Research Database
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
LSU AgCenter Publications
Since the beginnings of the land-grant system, publications have been one of the most important ways to get research-based educational material to the public. These publications have included one-page fact sheets, brochures, educational materials, documents and even books. Most of our publications are available online, hardcopy or both. Viewers can download documents from our Website or simply read them online. This site also includes a link to the LSU AgCenter’s quarterly magazine, Louisiana Agriculture and select newsletters.
PubMed
The PubMed database contains more than 36 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
Science & Technology Collection
The Science & Technology Collection contains over 830 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications.

Last Updated: Sep 30, 2025 2:33 PM
URL: https://ulm.libguides.com/c.php?g=1384102
Print Page

Subjects: Biology

Biology

Google Scholar

Can't Find It?

Can't Find it?

EBSCO Discovery

Featured Databases

Biology

Can't Find it?

EBSCO Discovery

EBSCO Discovery

Search for books, articles, media, and more

Featured Databases