Occupational Therapy

Hello and welcome to the ULM Occupational Therapy Subject Guide!

The purpose of this guide is to help you become more confident in navigating the research process by offering easy access to occupational therapy-related resources. This guide is a great place to start if you need to:

• Locate recommended databases for occupational therapy-related topics
• Find articles, books, or other sources for a research project
• Learn ways to evaluate a website's credibility
• Cite a source following APA guidelines

Not sure where to start?

This guide is here to help! 

• Unfamiliar with your Topic?

If you are not familiar with your topic, you can do some preliminary research. Some great databases for that are:

These databases provide dictionary entries, encyclopedia entries, short biographies, and more! Once you have done some preliminary research and have some general knowledge about your topic, you are ready to move on to the next step. 

• Already familiar with your topic?

The A to Z Databases List contains a list of all of the databases that ULM subscribes to. From this page, you can filter by subject to help find the best databases for your topic. You can also check out the Research Guides by Subject page and find a curated list of resources for the topic. Research guides provide more than just databases. They can connect you to online resources, suggest journals and books relevant to the topic, provide research tips, and even information about writing and citing.  

• Looking for a specific article?

If you are looking for a specific article, you have a few options. The first and easiest is to check Google Scholar (Link the ULM Library to Google Scholar). Once you have linked ULM's holdings to Google Scholar, it can search most of ULM's resources. 

If the article is not linked in the Google Scholar results, you can still check to see if ULM subscribes to the journal the article was found in. The ULM Journals and Books by Title page contains a searchable database of all of the journals and books that ULM subscribes to. Google Scholar is not perfect so it is important to also check to make sure ULM does not subscribe to the journal before moving on to the next step. 

If you still cannot find the article, you can place an Interlibrary Loan request through ILLIAD. If we can find the article through another university, we may be able to email you a copy.