Health Studies

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

The EBSCO Discovery Service allows you to search through all the content ULM subscribes to in one easy place. You can search for an article title, journal title, or ISBN/ISSN and instantly find full text access for any article/book that ULM pays to access.

Note: If the article/journal does not show up in EBSCO Discovery, then there's a good chance we don't have access to it. Fortunately, we might still be able to get a copy for you via Interlibrary Loan. If you have questions about this or need help submitting a request, please email reference@ulm.edu.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

ProQuest compiles a variety of different sources into one place, including theses and dissertations, ebooks, and publicly available content.

Hosting over 5,100 titles, SAGE Knowledge is home to a prestigious range of eBook and eReference content—including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles, and streaming video—making this the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty.

The Wiley Online Library is a one-stop shop for both ebooks and journals published by Wiley. When searching the platform you'll have an option to choose journals, ebooks, or both.

Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 110,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources.

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

A collection of over 80 leading pharmacy textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, quick reference, drug therapy cases, and an integrated drug database. AccessPharmacy also features self-assessment tools and online learning tools for the NAPLEX.

A collection of over 60 leading physiotherapy textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, quick reference, an interactive cadaver dissection tool, physical therapy cases, and an integrated drug database. AccessPhysiotherapy also features self-assessment tools and online learning tools for the NTPE exam.

American Chemical Society Journals report the latest scientific research in over 50 specialized disciplines. ACS includes training materials to teach best practices in scientific research and communication, the latest research to supplement classroom learning,
and journals, digital books, and news.

This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.

Literature review database covering psychology, sociology, anthropology, environment and resources, law and social science, political science, and public health. Annual Reviews contains articles that synthesize primary research and add context.

Biological Abstracts®, produced by Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson Scientific), is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains over 14 million archival records from as far back as 1926, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.

Book Collection: Nonfiction is a cross-curricular database providing abstracts and searchable full text for thousands of popular nonfiction books. It covers core subject areas as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition to journals, CINAHL includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.

ClinicalKey brings the leading pharmacy resources together in one service to help pharmacists efficiently find answers to clinical questions. It includes drug monographs, interactive calculators, patient education resources, professional journals, reference books, and evidence-based guidelines.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.

Founded in 1923, CQ Researcher provides original, authoritative reports on newsworthy social and political issues. Covering topics in public policy, law, civil liberties, international affairs, economics, health, education, the environment, technology, and more, CQ Researcher is renowned for its objectivity, breadth, and depth of coverage.

The Digital Public Library of America works with a national network of partners to make millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.

Educators and students can use the Primary Source Sets to discover history and culture through primary sources and ideas for classroom use.

Scholarly researchers can use DPLA to find open access sources from archives across the country through a single portal.

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) indexes a collection of diverse open access journals from around the world. Publishers and/or individual contributors must submit information on their journals to DOAJ, so it is not a complete list of open access content available online.

This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at ULM and select theses and dissertations at other institutions with coverage from 1916-present. If the pdf you access is a partial copy of a thesis or dissertation, you may try ordering the thesis or dissertation through ULM Library's Interlibrary Loan service.

This collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Browse titles from more than 230 publishers including Choice Outstanding Academic Titles (OAT) and DRM-free selections.

The EBSCO Discovery Service allows you to search through all the content ULM subscribes to in one easy place. You can search for an article title, journal title, or ISBN/ISSN and instantly find full text access for any article/book that ULM pays to access.

Note: If the article/journal does not show up in EBSCO Discovery, then there's a good chance we don't have access to it. Fortunately, we might still be able to get a copy for you via Interlibrary Loan. If you have questions about this or need help submitting a request, please email reference@ulm.edu.

EBSCO eBooks offers a wide selection of academic e-books from top publishers and presses. This collection offers both fiction and nonfiction on a variety of subjects.

EBSCOhost is great for when you want to search multiple different EBSCO databases at once. This page provides a list of every EBSCO database we subscribe to. Simply check the boxes next to the databases you want to search through, then click the "Continue" button at the top. Then run your search!

Exploring Race in Society is a free product specifically designed for students and faculty at the high school and college level to support dialogue on the key issues surrounding systemic racism.

The F.A. Davis PT Collection includes 29 F.A. Davis physical therapy references, including Dutton’s Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention and O’Sullivan, Physical Rehabilitation on the same digital platform as McGraw-Hill Education’s AccessPhysiotherapy. Also includes physical therapy cases and a video library of over 400 videos with exercise and rehabilitation techniques, kinetics, and physical therapy interventions.

Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

Full-text reference books on topics including business, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, travel, and more. Fully searchable and browsable.

Google Books Search works just like a web search. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given Google permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy. If you find a book you like, click on the "Buy this book" or "Borrow this book" link to see where you can buy or borrow the print book.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.

HathiTrust was founded in 2008 as a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries now preserving 18+ million digitized items in the HathiTrust Digital Library. They offer reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. and international copyright law, text and data mining tools for the entire corpus, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

JSTOR features full-text articles of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.

Providing full-text coverage of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Source is the authoritative source for information on current issues, studies and trends in the legal world. The collection includes over 1,200 full-text journals and over 2.5 million records, including book reviews and case citations. Legal Source offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment.

Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) offers drug monographs, IV compatibility tools, a drug interaction checker, a drug identification tool, and several calculators for different medical situations.

LWW Health Library includes textbooks, journals, video and audio, self assessments, cases, and clinical skills. Register and sign in with a free personal account to access personalized self-assessments, save your favorite content, and more.

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.

Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present. MMY via EBSCOhost® now includes the MMY Archive providing all yearbooks from the first edition in 1938, through the 18th yearbook released in 2010 raising the total number of full-text reviews available on the product to over 7,000.

NatMed (Natural Medicines) features over 1300 monographs on natural ingredients, including vitamins, herbs, minerals, non-herbal supplements, naturally sourced chemical compounds, and foods. They also offer a drug interaction tool that includes supplements.

EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.

Nexis Uni contains US and non-US news sources and legal materials, including cases, statutes, law journals and other secondary law resources. It also contains company and financial information on millions of United States and international companies and executives.

Nursing & Allied Health Premium is a user-friendly multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support.

Nursing Reference Center Plus provides staff nurses and nurse educators with a resource that supports education goals, encourages residents and students to access the original research, and provides options for patient care while preserving and supporting the essential learning opportunities that educators want to provide.

NRC Plus features landing pages that allow you to search for content related to Diseases, Skills, Drugs, Management, Continuing Education, Patient Education, and Reference, using the tabs above the Search Box. NRC Plus also includes a collection of nursing skills videos that are included within topics. Nursing skill videos are easily accessed when you search from the Skills page.

WorldCat can help you find resources in libraries all around the world. Even if the resource you're looking for is not at the ULM library, WorldCat can tell you if other libraries have it in order to place an Interlibrary Loan Request. If there is a specific material you are looking for that is not at the ULM library, contact us at reference@ulm.edu for assistance.

The Open Access Library is currently hosting links and metadata to more than 5,745,345 open access articles covering a wide range of academic disciplines. All full text articles from your search results are free to download.

OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.

PEDro has been informing physiotherapy practice for over 24 years. It is a free database of over 60,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions. You can search to answer your questions, browse the latest research in your area of interest, or learn more about evidence-based practice.

PrepSTEP can help you improve your core academic skills, explore careers, prepare for occupational exams or apply to graduate school. It offers targeted learning centers — each with a collection of practice tests, quizzes, tutorials, e-books, articles and flashcards — to help you build skills.

It’s a good idea to create a personal account so that you can save your work in progress, store score reports, and revisit any practice tests, tutorials or e-books. Registration requires only a valid email address and a password.

ProQuest compiles a variety of different sources into one place, including theses and dissertations, ebooks, and publicly available content.

Ebook Central is an ebook lending platform developed in collaboration with leading university and research libraries and with academic publishers. Ebook Central provides access to millions of titles from thousands of publishers, including Allen & Unwin, Wiley, Pearson, and Oxford University Press.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.

The Publicly Available Content Database links to full text for publicly available content from a number of different sources from around the world.

The PubMed database contains more than 36 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).

Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 49,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

Hosting over 5,100 titles, SAGE Knowledge is home to a prestigious range of eBook and eReference content—including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles, and streaming video—making this the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty.

Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.

To register, copy/paste the following link into a browser: https://ulm.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=CB3AF2BD-86F3-5055-1EAB-319C1B4D4EDB
Please note that you will need to use your ULM email address in your registration. Once you’re registered, you can access SciFinder through the link on the Library Database A to Z list. (Your login won’t work if you try to navigate directly to the page by typing it in the address bar.) After signing up, you should be able to log in from off campus as well.

The Serials Directory™ provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from more than 108,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1930, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

This repository is a service of the University of Louisiana Monroe libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers on campus. Browse theses and dissertations written by ULM students and faculty.

This database features a comprehensive list of all the journals and books ULM subscribes to. Simply type in the name of a journal to see the coverage dates and links to specific journals.

UpToDate offers clinical recommendations that are based on a synthesis of evidence, including that obtained from clinical trials as well as clinical experience. The recommendations are categorized based on the GRADE system, which communicates the strength of the recommendation (strong or weak), and the quality of the evidence on which it is based (high, medium, or low).

UpToDate is now requiring users to log in using personal credentials for remote and mobile app access. Log in each time you use UpToDate to enjoy registration benefits and maintain continuous access.

Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 21,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

The Wiley Online Library is a one-stop shop for both ebooks and journals published by Wiley. When searching the platform you'll have an option to choose journals, ebooks, or both.

WorldCat.org is a great resource for locating unique, trustworthy materials that you often can’t find anywhere except in a library. And by connecting thousands of libraries’ collections in one place, WorldCat.org makes it easy for you to browse the world’s libraries from one easy search box.

If ULM doesn't have the resource you're looking for but another library does, you can fill out an Interlibrary Loan request to check it out from the other library.