A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
The American Heritage Dictionary of Medicine reflects the latest developments in medicine, with entries featuring newly approved medications, advances in genetics and immunology, recent changes in the terminology of diseases and syndromes, and new psychiatric classifications introduced in DSM-5.
Collins Dictionary of Medicine is an invaluable reference work for medical and nursing students, health service professionals, and everyone requiring an authoritative guide to modern medical terminology.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine is a timely, comprehensive resource for consumers interested in health information.
The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more.
Offering in-depth coverage of all areas of health and disease, Human Diseases and Conditions, 3rd ed. offers current and accurate information on approximately 450 diseases and conditions.
A concise, up-to-date guide to the essential language of medicine. Contains More than 38,000 entries and covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.
The Routledge History of Disease draws on innovative scholarship in the history of medicine to explore the challenges involved in writing about health and disease throughout the past and across the globe, presenting a varied range of case studies and perspectives on the patterns, technologies and narratives of disease that can be identified in the past and that continue to influence our present.
The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health, Third Edition provides clear, concise nutritional guidance about smart eating and lifestyle choices. Updated with the latest data and statistics, this A-to-Z resource is essential for learning the basics about how food choices can help maintain optimum health and beat diseases.
While the ULM Library does have some physical books, most of the collection has transitioned to digital resources. These databases can help you find e-books that may help with your research needs.
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. It's a great source to consult when trying to determine a topic for your research paper.
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on X (Twitter)