This book is organized into 12 important chapters that focus on the progress made by metal-based drugs as anticancer, antibacterial, antiviral, anti-inflammatory, and anti-neurodegenerative agents, as well as highlights the application areas of newly discovered metallodrugs. It can prove beneficial for researchers, investigators and scientists whose work involves inorganic and coordination chemistry, medical science, pharmacy, biotechnology and biomedical engineering.
The book serves as a complete, systematic, comprehensive account of the contemporary developments in the area of novel and environment-friendly valorization of agro- and food wastes into value-added products like biodegradable polymer and active functional agents for food packaging applications. It also describes the hurdles and challenges in the commercialization of these novel biopolymer-based materials, including their composites, their applications, safety, and legal ramifications.
Chemometrics has long been the leading introductory textbook in this subject. Beginning with an introduction to the statistical-mathematical evaluation of chemical measurements, it leads readers through modern chemometric approaches in a pedagogically sound and highly readable style. Now fully updated to reflect the latest research and applications of this exciting discipline, it provides essential tools for a new generation of analytical chemists.
This fourth edition of Drug Safety Evaluation maintains the central objective of presenting an all-inclusive practical guide for those who are responsible for ensuring the safety of drugs and biologics to patients, healthcare providers, those involved in the manufacture of medicinal products, and all those who need to understand how the safety of these products is evaluated and shepherding valuable candidates to market.
Food Chemistry: The Role of Additives, Preservatives and Adulteration is designed to present basic information on the composition of foods and the chemical and physical changes that their characteristics undergo during processing, storage, and handling. Details concerning recent developments and insights into the future of food chemical risk analysis are presented, along with topics such as food chemistry, the role of additives, preservatives, and food adulteration, food safety objectives, risk assessment, quality assurance, and control. Moreover, good manufacturing practices, food processing systems, design and control, and rapid methods of analysis and detection are covered, as well as sensor technology, environmental control, and safety.
This book contains both practical and theoretical aspects of groundwater resources relating to geochemistry. Focusing on recent research in groundwater resources, this book helps readers to understand the hydrogeochemistry of groundwater resources. Dealing primarily with the sources of ions in groundwater, the book describes geogenic and anthropogenic input of ions into water. Different organic, inorganic and emerging contamination and salinity problems are described, along with pollution-related issues affecting groundwater. New trends in groundwater contamination remediation measures are included, which will be particularly useful to researchers working in the field of water conservation. The book also contains diverse groundwater modelling examples, enabling a better understanding of water-related issues and their management.
The first edition, entitled Harper's Biochemistry, was published in 1939 under the sole authorship of Dr Harold Harper at the University of California School of Medicine, San Francisco, California. Presently entitled Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry, the book continues, as originally intended, to provide a concise survey of aspects of biochemistry most relevant to the study of medicine. Various authors have contributed to subsequent editions of this medically oriented biochemistry text, which is now observing its 83rd year.
Compiled by a well-known expert in the field, Liquid Biofuels provides a profound knowledge to researchers about biofuel technologies, selection of raw materials, conversion of various biomass to biofuel pathways, selection of suitable methods of conversion, design of equipment, selection of operating parameters, determination of chemical kinetics, reaction mechanism, preparation of bio-catalyst: its application in bio-fuel industry and characterization techniques, use of nanotechnology in the production of biofuels from the root level to its application and many other exclusive topics for conducting research in this area.
Modern Forensic Tools and Devices: Trends in Criminal Investigation is a comprehensive guide to the latest technologies and techniques used in forensic science. This book covers a wide range of topics, from computer forensics and personal digital assistants to emerging analytical techniques for forensic samples. A section of the book provides detailed explanations of each technology and its applications in forensic investigations, along with case studies and real-life examples to illustrate their effectiveness.
In Organic Chemistry: A Tenth Edition from OpenStax, McMurry continues this tradition while updating scientific discoveries, highlighting new applications, scrutinizing every piece of art, and providing example problems to assist students. Organic Chemistry: A Tenth Edition continues to meet the scope and sequence of a two-semester organic chemistry course that follows a functional group approach.
Photocatalysts in Advanced Oxidation Processes for Wastewater Treatment comprehensively covers a range of topics aiming to promote the implementation of photocatalysis at large scale through provision of facile and green methods for catalysts synthesis and elucidation of pollutants degradation mechanisms. This book is divided into two main parts namely “Synthesis of effective photocatalysts” (Part I) and “Mechanisms of the photocatalytic degradation of various pollutants” (Part II). The first part focuses on the exploration of various strategies to synthesize sustainable and effective photocatalysts. The second part of the book provides an insights into the photocatalytic degradation mechanisms and pathways under ultraviolet and visible light irradiation, as well as the challenges faced by this technology and its future prospects.
Smart Charging Solutions for Hybrid and Electric Vehicles presents the state of the art of smart charging for hybrid and electric vehicles, from a technological point of view. It focuses on optimization and prospective solutions for practical problems and covers the most important recent developmental technologies related to renewable energy. It also includes economic considerations, such as business models and price structures and covers standards and regulatory frameworks for smart charging solutions.
Understanding Wine Chemistry has served as the definitive introduction to the chemical components of wine, their properties, and their reaction mechanisms. It equips the knowledgeable reader to interpret and predict the outcomes of physicochemical reactions involved with winemaking processes. Now updated to reflect recent research findings, most notably in relation to wine redox chemistry, along with new Special Topics chapters on emerging areas, it continues to set the standard in the subject.
Updated throughout, Waste Management in the Chemical and Petroleum Industries, Second Edition offers chapters on wastewater treatment; physical unit operations; chemical treatment; biological treatment; and wastewater treatment in unconventional oil and gas industries. It also covers wastewater sewer systems; sewage treatment; and solid waste treatment and disposal.
While the ULM Library does have some physical books, most of the collection has transitioned to digital resources. These databases can help you find e-books that may help with your research needs.
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. It's a great source to consult when trying to determine a topic for your research paper.
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on X (Twitter)