ULM Library LibGuides: Visual and Performing Arts: Find Articles & Databases

Where to Find Articles

There are multiple ways you can find articles.

Search EBSCO Discovery to search most of ULM's databases simultaneously.
Search databases individually to focus your search to a specific subject area. Select databases from the list below or visit the Libguides A to Z Database list to discover more.
Search individual journals to focus on the contents of one journal at a time. Go to Databases By Name on the ULM Library website, and select ULM Online Journals & Books by Title. Choose from the list of recommended journal titles where you can search by title or browse by discipline.

EBSCO Discovery

EBSCO Discovery allows you to find books, articles, reviews, and more. If you find your search comes back with too many results, make sure to use the filters found on the left side panel narrow your choices!

EBSCO Discovery

Search for books, articles, media, and more

Keyword Title Author

Advanced Search

Databases from A to Z || Journals and Books by Title || Research Guides by Subject

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
MAS Complete
MAS Complete contains full text for more than 540 popular magazines. MAS Complete also provides more than 440 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
JSTOR
JSTOR features full-text articles of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. It's a great source to consult when trying to determine a topic for your research paper.
Gale eBooks
Full-text reference books on topics including business, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, travel, and more. Fully searchable and browsable.

Art & Architecture Complete
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
Art Index Retrospective™: 1929 -1984 provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 186,302 CDs with more than 2,864,710 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 600 new titles are being added to the library each month.

The contents can be browsed by composer, artist, genre, category and label. In addition to listening to recordings, NML provides liner notes for many albums. Listeners can create personalized playlists or enjoy our predefined Naxos Music Library playlists.

Dissertations and Theses
This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at ULM and select theses and dissertations at other institutions with coverage from 1916-present. If the pdf you access is a partial copy of a thesis or dissertation, you may try ordering the thesis or dissertation through ULM Library's Interlibrary Loan service.