ULM Library LibGuides: Psychology: Find Articles &amp; Databases

Where to Find Articles

There are multiple ways you can find articles.

Search EBSCO Discovery to search most of ULM's databases simultaneously. There are multiple ways to use EBSCO Discovery: find the closest EBSCO Discovery search box in this research guide, visit the ULM Library website, or check out the A to Z database list. You can find many resources searching this way that you may have missed if you had only used a single database, but make sure to apply filters to your search to narrow your results or you might end up with a very long, overwhelming list!

Search databases individually to focus your search to a specific subject area. You can select recommended databases from the list below or visit the A to Z Database list to discover more. The downside of this method is that because individual databases have a targeted focus, you may miss some unique perspectives that other databases may have to offer.

Search individual journals to focus on the contents of one journal at a time. Click here to search for journals by title or browse publications by subject. Researching this way is a great option for when you need to use a specific journal, but because individual journals are usually more specialized, this method can greatly limit the type of viewpoints you are likely to see.

EBSCO Discovery

EBSCO Discovery allows you to search most of our databases at the same time. Searching this way can help you find books, articles, reviews, and more. If you find your search comes back with too many results, make sure to use the filters found on the left side panel narrow your choices!

You can access EBSCO Discovery in three ways:

by using an EBSCO Discovery search box like the one below
by using the blue EBSCO Discovery search box on the ULM Library website
by selecting EBSCO Discovery in the A to Z database list

EBSCO Discovery

Search for books, articles, media, and more

Keyword Title Author

Advanced Search

Databases from A to Z || Journals and Books by Title || Research Guides by Subject

Databases

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. It's a great source to consult when trying to determine a topic for your research paper.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR features full-text articles of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.

Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at ULM and select theses and dissertations at other institutions with coverage from 1916-present. If the pdf you access is a partial copy of a thesis or dissertation, you may try ordering the thesis or dissertation through ULM Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest compiles a variety of different sources into one place, including theses and dissertations, ebooks, and publicly available content.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni contains US and non-US news sources and legal materials, including cases, statutes, law journals and other secondary law resources. It also contains company and financial information on millions of United States and international companies and executives.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.