Allied Health

A collection of over 80 leading pharmacy textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, quick reference, drug therapy cases, and an integrated drug database. AccessPharmacy also features self-assessment tools and online learning tools for the NAPLEX.

A collection of over 60 leading physiotherapy textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, quick reference, an interactive cadaver dissection tool, physical therapy cases, and an integrated drug database. AccessPhysiotherapy also features self-assessment tools and online learning tools for the NTPE exam.

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition to journals, CINAHL includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

The F.A. Davis PT Collection includes 29 F.A. Davis physical therapy references, including Dutton’s Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention and O’Sullivan, Physical Rehabilitation on the same digital platform as McGraw-Hill Education’s AccessPhysiotherapy. Also includes physical therapy cases and a video library of over 400 videos with exercise and rehabilitation techniques, kinetics, and physical therapy interventions.

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Nursing & Allied Health Premium is a user-friendly multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support.

The PubMed database contains more than 36 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

A collection of over 80 leading pharmacy textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, quick reference, drug therapy cases, and an integrated drug database. AccessPharmacy also features self-assessment tools and online learning tools for the NAPLEX.

A collection of over 60 leading physiotherapy textbooks plus an extensive multimedia library, quick reference, an interactive cadaver dissection tool, physical therapy cases, and an integrated drug database. AccessPhysiotherapy also features self-assessment tools and online learning tools for the NTPE exam.

This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.

Literature review database covering psychology, sociology, anthropology, environment and resources, law and social science, political science, and public health. Annual Reviews contains articles that synthesize primary research and add context.

Biological Abstracts®, produced by Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson Scientific), is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains over 14 million archival records from as far back as 1926, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.

Book Collection: Nonfiction is a cross-curricular database providing abstracts and searchable full text for thousands of popular nonfiction books. It covers core subject areas as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition to journals, CINAHL includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.

Formerly Volumes I & II, Classic’s 500+ hours of video provide a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. The collection features world renowned therapists such as Albert Ellis, Violet Oaklander, Derald Wing Sue, and John Norcross demonstrating their methods and techniques. Students and faculty will also find documentaries on the human condition, which help with training in skills such as reflection and empathy.

Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. It's a great source to consult when trying to determine a topic for your research paper.

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) indexes a collection of diverse open access journals from around the world. Publishers and/or individual contributors must submit information on their journals to DOAJ, so it is not a complete list of open access content available online.

This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at ULM and select theses and dissertations at other institutions with coverage from 1916-present. If the pdf you access is a partial copy of a thesis or dissertation, you may try ordering the thesis or dissertation through ULM Library's Interlibrary Loan service.

The EBSCO Discovery Service allows you to search through all the content ULM subscribes to in one easy place. You can search for an article title, journal title, or ISBN/ISSN and instantly find full text access for any article/book that ULM pays to access.

Note: If the article/journal does not show up in EBSCO Discovery, then there's a good chance we don't have access to it. Fortunately, we might still be able to get a copy for you via Interlibrary Loan. If you have questions about this or need help submitting a request, please email reference@ulm.edu.

EBSCO eBooks offers a wide selection of academic e-books from top publishers and presses. This collection offers both fiction and nonfiction on a variety of subjects.

EBSCOhost is great for when you want to search multiple different EBSCO databases at once. This page provides a list of every EBSCO database we subscribe to. Simply check the boxes next to the databases you want to search through, then click the "Continue" button at the top. Then run your search!

The F.A. Davis PT Collection includes 29 F.A. Davis physical therapy references, including Dutton’s Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention and O’Sullivan, Physical Rehabilitation on the same digital platform as McGraw-Hill Education’s AccessPhysiotherapy. Also includes physical therapy cases and a video library of over 400 videos with exercise and rehabilitation techniques, kinetics, and physical therapy interventions.

Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

Full-text reference books on topics including business, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, travel, and more. Fully searchable and browsable.

Google Books Search works just like a web search. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given Google permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy. If you find a book you like, click on the "Buy this book" or "Borrow this book" link to see where you can buy or borrow the print book.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

JSTOR features full-text articles of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries. Many JSTOR collections are multidisciplinary and comprised of several core subjects, including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.

MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.

Nursing & Allied Health Premium is a user-friendly multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support.

Nursing & Allied Health Reference Source provides evidence-based care sheets, clinical reviews, exercise sheets, skills with in-context images and videos, quick lessons and research instruments. 
 

WorldCat can help you find resources in libraries all around the world. Even if the resource you're looking for is not at the ULM library, WorldCat can tell you if other libraries have it in order to place an Interlibrary Loan Request. If there is a specific material you are looking for that is not at the ULM library, contact us at reference@ulm.edu for assistance.

OpenStax, funded by Rice University, publishes openly licensed textbooks. Find open access textbooks on a variety of subjects, including business, the humanities, math, science, and social sciences.

PEDro has been informing physiotherapy practice for over 24 years. It is a free database of over 60,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions. You can search to answer your questions, browse the latest research in your area of interest, or learn more about evidence-based practice.

The PubMed database contains more than 36 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).

Hosting over 5,100 titles, SAGE Knowledge is home to a prestigious range of eBook and eReference content—including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles, and streaming video—making this the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty.

The Science & Technology Collection contains over 830 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications.

Provides integrated access to the Chemical Abstracts suite of databases with millions of bibliographic records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents; as well as over 100 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and associated property data; plus millions of searchable organic reactions. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, Registry Numbers), and chemical structures.

To register, copy/paste the following link into a browser: https://ulm.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=CB3AF2BD-86F3-5055-1EAB-319C1B4D4EDB
Please note that you will need to use your ULM email address in your registration. Once you’re registered, you can access SciFinder through the link on the Library Database A to Z list. (Your login won’t work if you try to navigate directly to the page by typing it in the address bar.) After signing up, you should be able to log in from off campus as well.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1930, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

This repository is a service of the University of Louisiana Monroe libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers on campus. Browse theses and dissertations written by ULM students and faculty.

This database features a comprehensive list of all the journals and books ULM subscribes to. Simply type in the name of a journal to see the coverage dates and links to specific journals.

Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 21,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

WorldCat.org is a great resource for locating unique, trustworthy materials that you often can’t find anywhere except in a library. And by connecting thousands of libraries’ collections in one place, WorldCat.org makes it easy for you to browse the world’s libraries from one easy search box.

If ULM doesn't have the resource you're looking for but another library does, you can fill out an Interlibrary Loan request to check it out from the other library.