More Than Just Articles!
Different databases contain different resources. While most students are aware that they can find things like academic articles and books, some databases contain so much more!
For example:
• Medical Dictionaries and Theasuari can be found on many different databases
While Google Scholar should never be the only place you look, it can be a great place to start! It can be especially helpful if you are looking for a specific article or general knowledge on a topic.
If we don't have what you're looking for, try requesting it through InterLibrary Loan (ILL)! Interlibrary loan is a service that allows students to borrow items from other libraries if ULM Library doesn't have them. You can submit a request for a book, journal article, conference paper, or whatever type of source you need, and we will see if we can find it for free!
This is EBSCO Discovery Service, this discovery search box searches across most of the library's resources all at once and can search some external resources.
These databases will be your best bets for all things related to dental hygiene. These databases are more narrowed in scope, so they tend to only cover articles related to the health science disciplines.
These databases are a great place to start for most topics. They cover a broad range of topics, which can be helpful, but also overwhelming.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. It's a great source to consult when trying to determine a topic for your research paper.
The EBSCO Discovery Service allows you to search through all the content ULM subscribes to in one easy place. You can search for an article title, journal title, or ISBN/ISSN and instantly find full text access for any article/book that ULM pays to access.
Note: If the article/journal does not show up in EBSCO Discovery, then there's a good chance we don't have access to it. Fortunately, we might still be able to get a copy for you via Interlibrary Loan. If you have questions about this or need help submitting a request, please email reference@ulm.edu.
ProQuest compiles a variety of different sources into one place, including theses and dissertations, ebooks, and publicly available content. Includes Education Research Index and Nursing and Allied Health Collection.
This box contains a list of some of the databases that relate to dental hygiene, sorted from A to Z. A full list of databases can be found here.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. It's a great source to consult when trying to determine a topic for your research paper.
The EBSCO Discovery Service allows you to search through all the content ULM subscribes to in one easy place. You can search for an article title, journal title, or ISBN/ISSN and instantly find full text access for any article/book that ULM pays to access.
Note: If the article/journal does not show up in EBSCO Discovery, then there's a good chance we don't have access to it. Fortunately, we might still be able to get a copy for you via Interlibrary Loan. If you have questions about this or need help submitting a request, please email reference@ulm.edu.
EBSCOhost is great for when you want to search multiple different EBSCO databases at once. This page provides a list of every EBSCO database we subscribe to. Simply check the boxes next to the databases you want to search through, then click the "Continue" button at the top. Then run your search!
MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
ProQuest compiles a variety of different sources into one place, including theses and dissertations, ebooks, and publicly available content. Includes Education Research Index and Nursing and Allied Health Collection.
This database features a comprehensive list of all the journals and books ULM subscribes to. Simply type in the name of a journal to see the coverage dates and links to specific journals.
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on X (Twitter)